Menu
  • Disability Services

    Student Development and Counseling provides comprehensive services for students with documented disabilities, including students with learning disabilities. These support services include assistive technology, such as screen readers, continuous speech recognition, enlarged text, large monitor and alternative input devices; as well as career exploration and continuing education classes.

    We also offer services for students with more significant disabilities not typically served at a community college. View our full program brochure or read more about Supported College Transition and College for Life below.  

    Preparing for College for Students with Special Needs

    See this checklist for students who plan to attend L&C

    Supported College Transition Program

    The Supported College Transition program (SCT) was designed for students with little mainstreaming experience in high school and with the academic preparation that indicates they can be successful in smaller sections of college developmental courses (Reading, English and Math) with the additional support provided by a Study Skills class and a college transition class. SCT courses are college credit courses which are eligible for federal and state financial aid.

    College for Life Program

    *Registration for Fall 2016 College for Life classes will begin on April 1 and will continue through Aug. 12, or until classes fill. Please call our department to make an advising appointment.


    For those students with disabilities who have had few inclusive experiences in high school or who choose not to seek a college credential, the College for Life program not only provides courses that continue the educational experience, but it also provides inclusive social growth opportunities on a college campus.

    Illinois Statewide Transition Conference 

     

     Hearing/Visual Impairments

    Students with hearing or visual impairments should notify the Student Development Office at least 30 days prior to the first day of classes to ensure that necessary accommodations can be arranged. Because of the demand for qualified interpreters, we may not be able to provide sign language interpreters for students who register late.

    Assistive Technology Lab

    L&C's Assistive Technology Lab provides computer workstations equipped with screen readers, screen magnification/enlargement software, dictionaries, speech recognition, outlining/brainstorming software, talking calculator and alternative input devices. Please contact Martie Buck at (618) 468-4217 for an appointment.

    Staff

    Martie Buck Program Coordinator
    Supported College Transition
    and College for Life Programs
    (618) 468-4217 mbuck@lc.edu
    Krista Clayton Instructor/Learning
    Assistant Specialist
    (618) 468-4137 kclayton@lc.edu
    Jennifer Allen Instructor (618) 468-4221 jallen@lc.edu
    Katelyn Dawdy Instructor (618) 468-4139 kdawdy@lc.edu
    Katie Dixon Instructor (618) 468-4214 kdixon@lc.edu
    Roselyn Ellington Instructor (618) 468-4214 rsiphengphone@lc.edu  
    Brandy Kribs Instructor (618) 468-4118 bkribs@lc.edu
    Maria Macias Instructor (618) 468-4213 mmacias@lc.edu
    Kay Werner Instructor (618) 468-4214 akwerner@lc.edu
    Diane Farniok Instructor (618) 468-4214 dfarniok@lc.edu