Menu

Update:

In accordance with the Illinois State mandate, masks are required on L&C campuses and vaccinations or weekly testing is required for team members and students. Visit www.lc.edu/coronavirus for information on submitting vaccine documentation and free testing on campus.

  • Center for Access and Accommodations

    The Center for Access and Accommodations provides comprehensive services for students with a documented need for academic adjustments or accommodations, including students with a learning difference(s). These support services include assistive technology, such as screen readers, continuous speech recognition, enlarged text, large monitor and alternative input devices; as well as career exploration and continuing education classes.

    Request for Accommodations

    We also offer services for students with intellectual disability/developmental disability (ID/DD) not typically served at a community college. View our full program brochure or read more about Supported College Transition and College for Life below.

    Preparing for College for Student with Accessibility Needs

    See this checklist for students who plan to attend L&C

    Supported College Transition Program

    The Supported College Transition program (SCT) was designed for students with little mainstreaming experience in high school and with the academic preparation that indicates they can be successful in smaller sections of college developmental courses (Reading, English and Math) with the additional support provided by a Study Skills class and a college transition class. SCT courses are college credit courses which are eligible for federal and state financial aid.

    College for Life Program

    For those students with need for academic adjustments or accommodations who have had few inclusive experiences in high school or who choose not to seek a college credential, the College for Life program not only provides courses that continue the educational experience, but it also provides inclusive social growth opportunities on a college campus.

    Illinois Statewide Transition Conference 

    Hearing/Visual Impairments

    Students with hearing or visual impairments should notify the Student Development Office at least 30 days prior to the first day of classes to ensure that necessary accommodations can be arranged. Because of the demand for qualified interpreters, we may not be able to provide sign language interpreters for students who register late.

    Assistive Technology Lab

    L&C's Assistive Technology Lab provides computer workstations equipped with screen readers, screen magnification/enlargement software, dictionaries, speech recognition, outlining/brainstorming software, talking calculator and alternative input devices. Please contact us to make an appointment.

    Instructional Staff

    Kay Werner Lead Instructor (618) 468-4217 akwerner@lc.edu
    Krista Clayton Instructor (618) 468-4137 kclayton@lc.edu  
    Katelyn Dawdy Instructor (618) 468-4139 kdawdy@lc.edu
    Katie Dixon Instructor (618) 468-4214 kdixon@lc.edu
    Regina Edwards Instructor (618) 468-4214 redwards@lc.edu  
    Maria Macias Instructor (618) 468-4213 mmacias@lc.edu
    Kate Ellis Instructor (618) 468-4214 klellis@lc.edu
    Megan Stevenson Instructor (618) 468-4223 mrstevenson@lc.edu
    Penny Noble Instructor (618) 468-4214 pknoble@lc.edu
    Sharon Hopkins Instructor (618) 468-4214 szhopkins@lc.edu
    Brandy Kribs Instructor (618) 468-4118 bkribs@lc.edu